Champions: Wisconsin-Whitewater Wins Second Men’s Title in Three Years

It’s not quite on par with the football team’s eight championship game appearances over the past nine seasons, but the Wisconsin-Whitewater men’s basketball squad is off to a good start.

The Warhawks won the Divison III national title last month when Quardell Young scored on a layup and drained a free throw with less than a second to play to finish off a 75-73 win over Williams in Salem, Virginia.

It’s the second championship for head coach Pat Miller and his team in three years.

Wisconsin-Whitewater (29-4) defeated Cabrini 63-60 in 2012. The Warhawks also won titles in 1984 and 1989. Miller also played on the Warhawks’ championship team that closed out the 1980s.

KJ Evans led the Warhawks with 22 points and seven rebounds. Young finished with 13 points, five assists and three rebounds while Eric Bryson went for 13 points, six assists and two steals.

Williams’ Michael Mayer led all players with 26 points, nine rebounds and three blocked shots.

Check out Young’s coast-to-coast winning effort as shown on ESPN’s Top 10 below.

Leave a Reply